Announcement: Late 2011 time zone changes for Armenia, Belarus, Ukraine

Important update October 21, 2011: Please note we have received reports that Armenia and Ukraine have canceled their proposed changes. (

According to reports in Rada and Kyivpost that we have confirmed through our offices in the region, Ukraine will not stay on permanent summer time and instead will fall back to winter time on October 30, 2011 as originally scheduled. If these reports become the plan of record, customers in Armenia and Ukraine will not have to adjust time zone settings on their computers that are running Windows operating system.

The Microsoft Knowledgebase article KB2625508 has been updated with this information.


[10/06/2011: See this blog post form the Windows team for more information on the changes.]

As I noted in a post last week, we confirmed that similar to the move in Russia, that Armenia, Belarus and Ukraine won’t fall back but also stay permanently on summer time on October 30.

Microsoft’s guidance for Windows to the affected countries will be to move to another time zone has been released in the KB Article 2011 time zone changes for Eastern Europe

Ukraine, Belarus, and Armenia have decided to discontinue daylight saving time in 2011. According to the current Windows time zone rules, daylight saving time (summer time) is (UTC+3:00) in Belarus and Ukraine and (UTC+5:00) in Armenia. Summer time is scheduled to end on October 30, 2011 and move to winter time, which is (UTC+2:00) in Belarus and Ukraine and (UTC+4:00) in Armenia. According to the latest changes, they will remain on summer time (UTC +3:00) indefinitely and will not “fall back” to winter time. However, Ukraine, Belarus, and Armenia have now discontinued winter time and will remain permanently on summer time.

The native time zones for the affected countries will be updated in the next planned cumulative Windows time update in December 2011. No hotfix is planned for release in the interim. Users in these time zones should move to the following alternative suggested time zones:

  • (UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad
  • (UTC +5:00) Tashkent

Note To move to the “(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad” time zones, customers must first install the August 2011 cumulative time zone update for Windows operating systems (  A new time zone will be created for Ukraine and Belarus in the December 2011 Windows time cumulative update, which users can move back to.

Affected Country Current Native Time Zone Current Standard Time Current Summer Time (DST) New Workaround Time Zone (no DST)


(UTC+02:00) Minsk



(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad


(UTC+02:00) Helsinki, Kyiv, Riga, Sofia, Tallinn, Vilnius



(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad


(UTC+04:00) Yerevan



(UTC +5:00) Tashkent

For more information, click the following article number to view Microsoft Knowledge Base article 2570791 ( August 2011 cumulative time zone update for Windows operating systems


Tags: Microsoft, Daylight Saving Time, Daylight Savings Time, RSS, DST, Russia

Bookmark this on Delicious Bookmark and Share

Also available via